Wike, Gbajabiamila, Abdulsalami Among 44 Honored at NEAPS Awards

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu has called on Nigerian public servants to uphold public trust and remain accountable to the citizens. He emphasized that public institutions are not personal enterprises and that public servants are employees of the Nigerian people.

The President conveyed this message on Saturday during the Nigeria Excellence Awards in Public Service (NEAPS) at the Banquet Hall of the Presidential Villa, Abuja. He reiterated his administration’s commitment to creating an environment where merit is rewarded and public servants feel valued and motivated.

According to a statement by Stanley Nkwocha, the Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media & Communications (Office of the Vice President), President Tinubu, represented by Vice President Kashim Shettima, acknowledged that despite measures to prevent irregularities, some loopholes are still being exploited.

Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Senator George Akume, explained that the awards, a private sector-driven initiative, recognize and reward innovation, purposeful leadership, and hard work by exceptional individuals and organizations in public service across all levels of government and the private sector. He noted that the selection process for honorees was based on verifiable empirical data.

Among the 44 recipients of the Nigeria Excellence Awards in Public Service were General Abdulsalami Abubakar (Peace Building award); Senate President Godswill Akpabio (Parliamentary Excellence award); Speaker of the House of Representatives Tajudeen Abbas (Parliamentary Excellence award); Chief of Staff to the President Femi Gbajabiamila (Leadership and Administration award); and Deputy Chief of Staff to the President (Office of the Vice President) Senator Ibrahim Hadejia (Administrator par Excellence award).

Governors Bala Mohammed of Bauchi, Seyi Makinde of Oyo, Dapo Abiodun of Ogun, Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri of Adamawa, Abdullahi Sule of Nasarawa, AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq of Kwara, and Peter Ndubuisi Mbah of Enugu were recognized for their interventions in specific sectors in their respective states.

Other notable awardees included FCT Minister Nyesom Wike (Infrastructure Delivery award, Federal); Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) Governor Olayemi Cardoso (Monetary Policy Reforms award); President of Dangote Group Alhaji Aliko Dangote (Industrial Revolution award); former SGF Boss Mustapha (Lifetime Achievement award); and Founder/Chairman of Zenith Bank Chief Jim Ovia (Lifetime Achievement in Banking award).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *